St Peter's Cathedral - The Sacraments

Skip Navigation

The Sacraments

The Latin word 'sacramentum' means "a sign of the sacred."  The seven sacraments are ceremonies that point to what is sacred, significant and important for Christians.  They are special occasions for experiencing God's saving presence.  That's what theologians mean when they say that sacraments are at the same time signs and instruments of God's grace.

The seven sacraments are rites of the Church that we take part in during our Journey of Faith.  Each sacrament is another piece of that journey, strengthening our connection and commitment to the teachings of Jesus Christ.  With each sacrament, we are further enriched with the grace and wisdom of God, and we further confirm our faith in Him.


Sacraments of Initiation


Baptism - Matthew 28:19

The first of all sacraments is the one we celebrate at birth - baptism. Since we can't decide to join the Catholic Church ourselves when we are born, our parents make this choice for us. The rite of baptism cleanses us from original sin, allowing us to be reborn as children of God. Baptism is an outward symbol of our rejection of sin and our new birth in the Holy Spirit.

Celebrated at 1.00pm sharp on the second and fourth Sundays of every month. At least a month's notice prior to baptism is requested to facilitate a visit from a member of the Cathedral Parish Baptism Team. To arrange this, and also to book a place on the Baptism course, please contact the Parish Office on 9032 7573.


Confirmation - Acts 8:14-19

At baptism, our parents choose for us to join the Church, but when we are older, we need to make that choice ourselves. Through the sacrament of Confirmation, we openly affirm our own commitment to the teachings of Christ. At Confirmation, the gifts we received from the Holy Spirit at baptism are increased; our relationship with Jesus is strengthened; our bond with the Church is deepened.

This will be celebrated by Bishop Anthony Farquhar on Wednesday 4th March, 2015 at 11.00am


Eucharist - Matthew 26:26-28

The Eucharist is also know as Holy Communion, we accept the body and blood of Christ. This sacrament is symbolic of our internalising the words of Jesus into our hearts and minds. As we partake in this sacrament of Christ's real presence, we are spiritually nourished and strengthened. Holy Communion reminds us of Jesus and the Last Supper, when He said to His disciples, " Those who eat my flesh and drink my blood have eternal life, and I will raise them up on the last day" (John 6:54). Through this meal Christ shares Himself with us, and we are also united with our fellow believers as we experience the sacrament together.


Sacraments of Healing


Reconciliation - John 20:25

The sacrament of Reconciliation deals with the reality of sin, and also with God's grace and love in forgiving us. No matter how hard we try, each and every one of us will commit sins by turning away from the words of Jesus. The act of sin, while a personal decision, does not just affect ourselves - it affects our relationships with others and with the Church. Through Reconciliation, we repent, confess our sins to a priest, and mend our relationships with God and the community. We are reminded of God's grace and discover His love again.

Celebrated each Saturday morning after 10.00am Mass and before the evening 6.30pm Mass at 6.00pm


Anointing of the Sick - James 5:13-15

The Anointing of the Sick is a sacrament received during grave illness or at death. When the recipient is anointed with oil - which is a sign of the Holy Spirit - he or she receives the blessings of the Spirit. This sacrament brings peace and fortitude at a time of suffering, reminding the recipient that Jesus too suffered, and just like Jesus, the sufferer will ascend into the eternal glory of heaven.


Sacraments of Vocation


Holy Orders - 2 Timothy 1:6

We are all a part of the church community, and are all baptized into the common priesthood, but there are some who receive the calling to the ministerial priesthood. The sacrament of Holy Orders allows men to be ordained as bishops, priests, or deacons. This is a holy vocation to continue Jesus' work. The difference between each of these vocations is the kind of work that is performed; each of these vocations deals with teaching the Word of God, worship, and ministering to God's people, but deacons do not lead Mass, while a priest can. Bishops are leaders of an entire diocese, not just one church.


Marriage - Matthew 19:3-9

The sacrament of Marriage is a covenant of love and faithfulness between a man and a woman united in Christ. Marriage reflects the relationship between Christ, the bridegroom, and the Church, His bride. The covenant between a married couple is a sacred one, and it includes the commitment to raise their children in the teachings of Christ, if God blesses them with a family. Like God, the married couple creates life when they join, and they love their children unconditionally as God loves all of us.

There is a diocesan requirement of three months notice to be given for a forth coming marriage. A marriage course must be completed prior to the marriage. To arrange a course contact should be made with ACCORD, Twin Spires.
Couples should be aware that they should obtain two copies of 'NOTIFICATION OF MARRIAGE' from City Hall, which should be signed by the celebrant who will marry them. Both parties should be present when this is done, and they must produce proof of identity ie: a recent Baptism Certificate. These signed documents should bereturned to City Hall, proof of id.